Tripsdrill Header ImageTripsdrill Header ImageTripsdrill Header ImageTripsdrill Header ImageTripsdrill Header Image

History

278

The name Tripsdrill dates back to Roman times when Captain Trepho founded a village here, which he named Trephonis truilla in honor of his wife, Truilla. Today, Tripsdrill is still known as "die Trulla" among the locals.

793

This was the year in which wine-growing on the Michaelsberg, the local Tripsdrill hill, was first reported.

1288

The original village at this location was known as Rauenklingen and it was after this village that the "Rauhe Klinge" castle was named.

1576

This was the year in which the first documented reference to Treffentrill (Tripsdrill) was made.

1757

The historian Christian Friedrich Sattler was the first author to write about the Belz mill ("Altweibermühle") at Tripsdrill in his work "Die Geschichte des Herzogtums Württemberg" (the history of the Duchy of Württemberg).

1798 / 99

Friedrich Schleeweiß of Cleebronn built a farm called Treffentrill at the foot of the Michaelsberg. This was the birth year of what was to be present-day Tripsdrill.

1833

Paul Fischer, the great-great-grandfather of the current Tripsdrill owners, moved to Treffentrill with his family.
His son, Friedrich Adam Fischer, opened a tavern there to increase the family’s income.

1890

The first picture of the "Altweibermühle" at Tripsdrill was drawn showing a manually operated mill in a house built of stone. The actual “Altweibermühle” had not yet been built.

1924

Eugen Fischer, grandfather of the present-day owner, took over his father's farm and the tavern.

1929

On June 30th, Eugen Fischer opened the first „Altweibermühle" next to his tavern. It consisted of a small slide and a mill tower with four blades.
The garden tavern and the "Altweibermühle" became a popular destination for day trips, with local bands playing music on Sundays for the guests to dance along to.
Eugen Fischer's plans for development were interrupted by World War II. He went to war and sadly did not return. Kurt Fischer, father of the current owner, continued the family business.

1946

The "Altweibermühle" was hit by lightning and burned down. The Fischer family lost everything, except for the courage to make a new start.

1950

The current "Altweibermühle" celebrated its opening on May 7th. The festival speech was given by the Swabian regional poet August Lämmle.

1957

The animal park next to the "Altweibermühle" opened for the first time with 300 animals, including bears, monkeys, goats, sheep, zebras and ponies.

1960

The first ride opened on the lawn outside the "Altweibermühle". It consisted of several locomotives driven by pedal power.

1962  

The "Trillarium" regional museum opened. The first exhibits were 17th- and 18th-century weapons.

1965

A regional and industrial collection was added to the “Trillarium” exhibits.

1970

The counterpart to the "Altweibermühle", the "Altmännermühle", opened next store, featuring an obstacle course with 12 stations.

1972

The Tripsdrill "Wildparadies" opened, located a mere 10-minute walk away from Tripsdrill Adventure Park. An area of 35 hectares of mixed forest was now home to red deer, Sika deer, fallow deer, wild boars, moufflons, wild ox and wild horses. In the years after, Lynxes, wolves and bears were also added to the “Wildparadies” family. 

1976

The animal park was extended and a petting zoo was added. The total animal stock now stood at more than 1,000 animals.
The "Vinarium" wine museum opened in a specially constructed wine-pressing building. Visitors could now not only get to know all about the history of winemaking, but also taste the exceptional regional wines in the vaulted cellar.

1979

The "Heiratsmarkt" (marriage market) opened after a construction period of more than two years. Old traditions could now be relived on an area measuring two hectares. Around the year 1500, this location was home to the "Katharinenmarkt", locally known as the "marriage market", where young men and women celebrated the servants' day off at the end of the grazing season.

1981

The open-air museum, along with its ride through the "Fröhlicher Weinberg" in a vat, was constructed next to the "Vinarium" museum.

1983 / 84

The "Wiegen-Hochbahn" and the "Kaffeetassenfahrt" (teacup ride) in the world's largest coffee grinder – a unique ride at the time – were added as additional attractions.

1986

The Vinarium is enhanced with historical wine presses, making it the largest wine press collection in Germany, boasting more than 50 wooden spindle presses. The adventure park was extended to 45 hectares.

1987 - 1991

Six new rides were built: "Rasender Tausendfüßler", "Schmetterlingsflug", "Moggelesbahn", "Enten-Wasserfahrt", "Wirbelpilz" and "Schlappen-Tour".

1992

The addition of "Bauern- und Viehstalltheater" (farm and stable theater) and the feeding of the wolves at Wildparadies provided even more variety to Tripdrill’s assortment of attractions.

1995

The adventure park acquired an additional 15 hectares of land for expansion. Theme park planner Emanuel Mongon (Imaginvest, Paris) began working at Tripsdrill.

1996

Helmut, Roland and Dieter Fischer took over the management from their father, Kurt Fischer. The "Waschzuber-Rafting" ride, one of the main attractions, opened on two hectares of land. The adventure park was entered in the company register as a GmbH & Co (limited liability partnership).

1997

The waiting area for the "Waschzuber-Rafting" ride was given a theme. A wash house in the style of 1808 was equipped with antique washing utensils from grandma's era.

1998

Extreme inline skater Dirk Auer opened the "G'sengte Sau" roller coaster by becoming the first person ever to inline skate along the tracks.
The Tripsdrill adventure park received the IAAPA Award from the USA for best PR work on the occasion of the roller coaster launch.

2000

The "Rauhe Klinge" castle, with Europe's highest water ride, was formally opened by the Minister for Economic Affairs, Walter Döring, on April 20th.

2001

Tripsdrill became the scene for the popular show "Wetten dass...?" challenge for ZDF TV. Dirk Auer managed to beat his own 1998 record ride. Holding a beer glass, which was still two-thirds full after the ride, he rode along the "G’sengte Sau" on inline skates. A 2,500 m2 bear enclosure opened at the Tripsdrill Wildparadies. Our three bears, Katja, Sozja and Shanja, moved in.
The Tripsdrill animal park was given a 17-hectare extension.

2002

The "Jungbrunnen von Tripsdrill" (fountain of youth) opened, with an associated exhibition in the waiting area for the bath tub ride, as well as bathroom facilities made in a historical architectural style.

2003

Two new attractions opened near the "Altweibermühle": the "Mühlbach" ride and the "Donnerbalken für Schwindelfreie". Concurrently, the Wildparadies became the proud home to Germany's largest aviary for eagles and vultures.

2004

Tripsdrill celebrated its 75th anniversary. A new themed area, the "Mühlental", was designed to mark the occasion. A second tree was added to the "Donnerbalken" and the "Spritztour für Seefahrer" was launched.

2005

The interactive soapbox race was launched after two-and-a-half years of development. The vehicles could be self-steered without the limitation of rails or curbs. This unique system has been patented by the Tripsdrill adventure park.

2006

The "Maibaum" (maypole) opened in the traditional village street. This attraction continued the series of interactive rides, following the "Spritztour" and soapbox racing. "Dorfstraße" (village street), with its three lovingly designed half-timbered houses, was opened, inviting visitors to a pleasant stroll or a little shopping.

2007

With great attention to detail, coats of arms and guild symbols were added to the maypole.

2008

The "Mammut" wooden roller coaster was launched.  It was the first wooden roller coaster in southern Germany and the first themed ride of its kind. The ride simulates a saw mill; the cars are shaped like saws and appear to cut through the beams.

2009

Tripsdrill Adventure Park celebrated its 80th anniversary. Historical saw mills from all over Germany were reconstructed around the new "Mammut" roller coaster.

2010

Tripsdrill started to offer unique accommodation options true to the Tripsdrill spirit in front of Wildparadies during the summer months. The first to open were five gypsy caravans for nature-loving families.
Another new attraction at Wildparadies was the newly extended falcon house, with its 13 aviaries and a grandstand for the flight demonstrations, which our falconers, Roland Werner and Günther Gabold, performed every day (except on Fridays).

2011

The Nature-Resort Tripsdrill is expanded with 5 tree houses. Now 130 guests can find a sleeping place there.

2012

The Wildlife Park Tripsdrill celebrates ist 40th anniversary. On this occassion 50 new wall charts are being installed. Next to the adventure playgroung a new climbing wood invites to let off steam.

2013

Unlimited play options on a surface area of 1,000 m² and an almost eight metres high "Murmelturm", all in the newly built indoor “Gaudi-Viertel”. The "Karacho" Catapult Big Dipper starts in summer.

2014              

Due to its popularity, the nature resort is expanded by seven new tree houses. The building of eight more tree houses is planned until spring 2015.

2015

In spring, eight additional tree houses have been brought to completion, increasing the nature resort’s capacities to a total of 190.

2016

In time for the start of the season, the new theme restaurant “Zur Werksküche” opens with modern conference facilities next to the catapult roller coaster “Karacho”. Directly adjacent, the “Heißer Ofen”, a new family attraction with historic motor bikes is launched. Furthermore, eight tree houses are added to the nature resort which now consists of 20 shepherd’s wagons and 28 tree houses with a total of 222 beds.

2017

In May 2017, a new Sky Fly is launched whose theme is inspired by Albrecht Ludwig Berblinger, the “Tailor of Ulm”.

To top

Footer-Background
Tripsdrill-Background-Image